2002-03 ABOUT THE MIAA



Ralph McFillen MIAA Commissioner



Matt Newbery MIAA Sports Information Director

MIAA Directory 10551 Barkley, Suite 501 Overland Park, KS 66212

913.341.3839 **McFillen** Phone 913.341.5887 McFillen Fax

913.341.3080 Newbery Phone 913.341.2995 Newbery Fax



The Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association, a 10-member conference of NCAA Division II institutions in Missouri and Kansas, was first organized in 1912 as the Missouri Intercollegiate Athletic Association.

Over the past 15 years, the league has undergone several changes, highlighted by expansion and increased participation in national championships.

The MIAA has gained the reputation of being one of the top NCAA Division II conferences in the nation. MIAA studentathletes have won 11 national championships and more than 100 individual national titles.

The MIAA currently conducts conference championships in eight men's and eight women's sports. Men's champions are crowned in football, cross country, basketball, indoor and outdoor track and field, baseball, tennis, and golf. Women's champions are determined in volleyball, cross country, soccer, basketball, indoor and outdoor track and field, softball and tennis.

Ralph McFillen was named to succeed Ken B. Jones as commissioner of the MIAA in January 1997, and took over in July of that year. He formerly served as commissioner of the Metro and Gulf South conferences. Matt Newbery, formerly an assistant sports information director at Pittsburg State University, joined the conference in July 1994 as director of sports information.

Past MIAA Tennis Champs

Women's

1983

Men's

2003, 2002, 2001, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1987, 1977, 1975, 1974, 1973, 1971, 1961, 1960, 1959

TSU 11 1983, 1982, 1981, 1972, 1970, 1969, 1968, 1967, 1966, 1965, 1964

SBU 10 2000, 1999, 1998, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1991, 1990, 1989, 1988

Central Missouri State University Warrensburg, Mo.

Emporia State University Emporia, Kan.

University of Missouri-Rolla Rolla, Mo.

SEMSU.....8 NWMSU.....9 1986, 1985, 1984, 1980, 2003, 2002, 2001, 1997, 1978, 1963, 1962, 1953 1996, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1987

CMSU 4 1957, 1956, 1955, 1954

SMSU 3 1979, 1976, 1958

LU 5 1990, 1989, 1985, 1984,

WU2 2000, 1991

MSSC 1 1999

1982

TSU 4 1998, 1995, 1988, 1986

MIAA Members

Missouri Southern State College Joplin, Mo.

Missouri Western State College St. Joseph, Mo.

Northwest Missouri State University Maryville, Mo.

Pittsburg State University Pittsburg, Kan.

Southwest Baptist University Bolivar, Mo.

Truman State University Kirksville, Mo.

Washburn University Topeka, Kan.

2004 MEDIA GUIDE









